There are several ways to register NEN Connect company users:
- General username / password for all users
- The company administrator registers users
- Users register themselves
It is possible to use one username / password for all users in an organisation. In this case, users receive no emails from NEN Connect, for example when applying for a standard. If you choose this option, NEN sets the username. As company administrator, you need to set the password for this username. You will receive an email about this. As company administrator, you can change the password.
If you want to add a new user, go to the page My company – Users and click Add user.
After saving a user, the user receives an email to complete registration. If you have selected the option Send emails to company administrator you will receive this email yourself.
You can see the registration status on the user’s page, along with the date to complete the registration. If this date has expired, click Resend email to user to finalise registration, and the user will be given another month to finalise the registration.
Your company can also register your company users. To do this, it is necessary to set up the domain name or names of your organisation in the company settings. This is the part after the @ symbol in the email address. Based on their email addresses, your colleagues are recognised as employees of your organisation when they register. To set the domain name, please contact NEN.
There are 2 options:
All NEN Connect users with this domain will receive an email about how they can sign up for the licences via their profile page.
Employees who do not have a NEN Connect account yet, can registrer via the homepage of NEN Connect.
After entering their names and email addresses, your colleagues will receive an email about how to create a password and confirm registration.
If you have opted for a company-wide licence (option 1), your colleagues will now have access to the relevant licences in NEN Connect, including the freely-accessed standards and documents.
If you have opted for licences request (option 2), your colleagues will now have access to freely-accessed standards and documents in NEN Connect. The first time your colleagues log in to NEN Connect, they will be presented with an overview screen where they can request access to your company’s licences. (Some licences, such as the SAI Global licence, are not shown in the overview. The reason for this is that the data must be known by SAI Global as well).
Note: The licenses consisting of norms in the plus range, are not shown in the overview. For these licenses it holds that the data must be known by SAI Global (provider of the plus range).
When users request access, they can add a reason.
When your colleague sends a request, you receive an email. The homepage of NEN Connect also indicates that a request has been made.
On the Requests - Licence page, you can view the requests, and accept or decline them.
The applicant will receive an email about accepting or declining. In case of acceptance, the user has immediate access to the requested license.
Note: Users see the reason, but not the name of the requester
If NEN has approved and set up company-wide access for your organisation, you can customise this yourself
Go to My Company - Licences. Click on the licence that you want to change.
If you deselect the Company-wide licence option and click Save, all future requests for access to the relevant licence will be forwarded to the company administrator. In this case, therefore, you will receive an email with a request, and can accept or decline the application.
You can hide licences from users by deselecting Show in licence selection. This will block them from applying for the licence.
However, they may request access to a standard, which is part of such a licence. In that case you will receive an email asking you to give the user access to the licence.
As administrator, you can create additional administrators, or convert users to company administrators. Every organisation must have at least one administrator.
If there are multiple administrators, you can remove these as long as at least 1 administrator remains. In Delete your account, you can read more on removing users and administrators.