And the Georges Garel Award goes to…

25-09-2017 Neil Reeve was honoured with the prestigious Georges Garel Award from the International Federation of Standards Users (IFAN) for meritorious contributions to standardization. Neil Reeve had been Chair of ISO/TC 67, Materials, equipment and offshore structures for petroleum, petrochemical and natural gas industries, for many years before he retired in 2012. Due to organizational issues, he was asked to become Chair again and was reappointed in 2016.

Until 2012, Neil was also Chair of the strategy committee “Energy supply, transport and distribution” and ran the Advisory Board of NEN for many years. He was awarded the prestigious prize by unanimous agreement of the IFAN Board for his ongoing service to the international standards community.

In his reply to IFAN, Mr Reeve stated: 'Standardization provides cooperation not competition, it is much better to try to use industry, regional or international standards in preference to a company specification wherever possible. It is essential though to ensure that a level playing field is established with focus on the technical and economic issues, that also address health, safety and environmental requirements to prevent as far as is reasonably practical both major and minor incidents.'

Previous recipients of the award include Laura Hitchcock from the USA (2013), Ziva Patir from Israel (2007), and Christian Favre, Acting ISO Secretary-General, who was given the award notably for his work in creating the so-called Vienna Agreement between CEN and ISO.

More information

For more information, contact Jeannette Hofman, manager Energy,

Recently Viewed

More information?

Please contact NEN Communications department.

00 31 152 690 435